The Poster – Final Design

For my Final poster design I decided that I was going to base it on roundabout symbols. One of my first design ideas was to arrange the information on the poster around a roundabout so that it would look like a road sign. I started by selecting a font from the six we were allowed to use. I wanted to use the one that most closely resembled the “Transport” font Calvert designed so I found a sample of the font and compared it to each font. I decided that Helvetica was the closest font as it is a sans-serif typeface and the sizes of the letters and the spacing between them most closely resembles “Transport”.

The second thing I did was select the colours I was going to use and to do this i went to the gov.uk website (https://www.gov.uk/guidance/traffic-sign-images) where the exact colours used on uk road signs are listed.Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 16.34.26.png

I then moved on to tracing some roundabout shapes on illustrator and arranging them to create the background of the poster. My initial idea was to have a few roundabouts in the background and then to have one black one in front and try to imitate the layout of an actual roundabout.

I then decided to go for a slightly more abstract look and used the roundabout shapes I initially created as the background. Instead of having one of each I used multiple copies of the group layered on top and around each other. I think this resulted in a more coherent design and even though there are more individual elements in  the background they actually work together as one more subtle element. I tried to keep the text simple and stuck to one font (helvetica) and varied the weight and size of the text to add hierarchy to the information being displayed. The white rectangle was used to make the text clearer and easier to read because, like the roadsigns.

My final design can be seen below as the PDF I had printed.

the poster v13.jpg

the poster v13

Below is the grid I used for the poster layout.

Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 17.01.34.png

Leave a comment