Picture Symbol Icon – Day 2

Today was spent focusing on typography. We started by learning about the history of typography and the principles of typography (below are my notes from this).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We then moved on to look at representing a work through how it is written. I initially picked the word “stairs” and imitating the shape of actual stairs through the way the word is written.

IMG_4296.JPG

I wasn’t really happy with any of the iterations of this so I decided to use a palindrome because I thought the potential symmetry of a word could be really interesting. I initially experimented with drawing the letters on different levels and in different sizes whilst still maintaining the symmetry of the words. In the end I did, however, choose to draw the letters all the same size and the last to back to front so that is symmetrical in the
y-axis. After we had finished these we commented on each others work, writing our comments on sticky notes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After writing single words we moved on to writing phrases and incorporating geometric shapes. For this I chose a quote from my favourite book ‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern:

“Like stepping into a fairy tale under
a curtain of stars.”

I chose this because it would be very difficult to represent visually whilst still being very descriptive, however I very quickly realised that this was too long a phrase and shortened it to just the last five words. I wanted to represent the stars through the use of geometric shapes without actually drawing stars so I drew two hexagons layered on top of each other.

IMG_6459

Leave a comment